Automated DMs on twitter

“Thanks for following me! It’s really nice to meet you! I look forward to seeing your tweets!” – A typical auto DM…

There are many AUto DM tools out there and here are a few of my favourites.

The thing about auto direct messages are they are the only tool that can, without fail, get me to take an instantaneous action: to unfollow whichever account sent me one.

It is amazing that people who work in marketing, comms, PR and mostly “social media” think it is appropriate to use a faceless, lame auto DM to try to start some kind of conversation is ridiculous! I have already followed you, don’t ruin it now.

The really stupid thing is that the accounts sending me these auto DM’s are, often, not SPAM accounts or fools or even misguided brands, they are real people who often tweet interesting stuff and can even be nice to talk to, so why are they using these tools? – I don’t know, do you?

Leave a Reply

