Keeping it simple

It’s one AM in a hotel room in Helsinki, the wifi is poor but I just had a thought to share…

How many marketing campaigns actually work too hard?

It’s an interesting thought, often when I talk with guys in the industry about campaigns (especially really good ones like the T-mobile stuff I wrote about yesterday) people are very keen to tell me how the campaign “could have done more” or been better in some way.

While I understand the desire to make assets and investments work as hard as possible sometimes I think that adding an extra layer, or a “deeper engagement” mechanic actually takes away from the experience and misses the point? Most of the time I feel that brands are better off just keeping it simple.

what do you think?

Leave a Reply

